Election ‘Craziness’

A couple weeks ago the Student Government Association at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point canvased the campus, urging students to register to vote. I kept putting it off, knowing I needed my driver’s license and proof of residency to register. Eventually, when representatives from SGA showed up in the lobby of my residence hall I realized I had no excuse.

At the time I did not have much information about the candidates and I figured when voting day came, if I felt like going or if I was informed enough I would. These past weeks I kept hearing more about Scott Walker and Mary Burke. Eventually I decided I could make an informed vote.

I walked over to the building I was scheduled to vote in and stood in line for maybe eight minutes. I talked to one of the reporters from The Pointer while waiting in line and we talked about this week’s article since I was on a break from editing it. The gymnasium was empty, there were 20 people in the polling area, five of whom were handing out ballots and making sure we were who we said we were. I placed my vote and walked back. It was so simple and took less than 20 minutes, walking included.

2 thoughts on “Election ‘Craziness’

I'd love to have your input!

