One Size does NOT Fit all

I do not believe in the one size fits all concept. I was shopping at Rue 21 and noticed the leggings came in small, medium, large and extra large. On the other side of the display was the one size fits all. This isn’t The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. They’re not going to fit everyone.

I tried on a pair because I thought “why not?” and they look good on me. However, they are not going to fit someone who is a size zero, and they are not going to fit a size 30 either. I believe the only reason they fit me is because I’m a pretty average size. Some people are taller and some are shorter. That is a major thing; even for me it depends on the day. Sometimes these leggings are too short.

This concept does not just apply to leggings, but also hats. One of my friends has a one size fits all hat, as most are. This one in particular is a cowboy hat, and it does not fit me one bit. It slides around on my head and does not stay on, no matter what I do.

Especially with women, one size fits all should not be an option because if they do not fit someone they will automatically think something is wrong with them, not society.

People come in all shapes and sizes, which is a motto said often enough. These things are not going to magically change overnight. I’m not going to walk into a store and see a number on a hat, representing the size of someone’s head. But it is still an issue I would like to be noticed.

6 thoughts on “One Size does NOT Fit all

  1. Snoskred says:

    Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    I’ve seen One Size Fits Most about the place, which I think is a much better concept. I have a lot of trouble finding leggings that fit, are the right length, and cannot be seen through when you bend over, which is my one main rule when it comes to leggings that I will wear. 🙂

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I some of the add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

  2. insidejksmind says:

    I actually like that idea of one size fits most because then it does not lump everyone in together. It does give some leeway in case they don’t fit, and if you’re on one of the extreme sides then just looking at the tag you know it probably won’t fit.
    Thank you for following me! I looked at your blog and it is pretty amazing, I love all the pictures incorporated in.
    Happy NaBloPoMo!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to have your input!

