Stonehenge and Bath

The past few days have been a whirlwind of new things. I flew across the Atlantic to the beautiful country of England. I was seated next to a little kid and his dad. I think they were French. I spent most of the flight looking outside, eating and sleeping. It was cramped, but I made do. We went through the border as a group. I was not expecting the line to be that long. I refrained from looking at my watch all the time, but the people were nice.
Then we went right to Stonehenge from the airport. The bus drove past and all of us were confused, thinking that was all we got. Instead we stopped, got out, looked around, and got an audio tour. As we got farther and farther along I became more fascinated. I knew a lot of the things that had been talked about in the audio, but they were just so big. There were also little huts the people who made Stonehenge probably lived in. Historians figured this out because they were excavated an area kind of nearby and that was what they found. There was also a piece of rock that they had on a wagon with a rope attached to it. It was to see who could pull it and who couldn’t. No one could, which is the point. We went to The Orchard for lunch and the school paid for a 2 course meal and a beer for all of us.

DSCN0730 DSCN0740

Then we went to Bath for New Years and a couple of us went out to a bar and stayed until one. When we got there it was just us and a couple other people but as more locals came in we branched off and started talking to different people. There was a dance area in the basement, so we went down there for midnight. I was talking to one of the guys I met and we were talking about stereotypes and somehow managed to get on the topics of accents and apparently I do a good British accent. I think he was just being nice. By the time we left there was a line waiting to get in and a 15 pound cover charge. We lucked out, I didn’t spend even that much the entire night.

DSCN0766 DSCN0778 DSCN0786 DSCN0763

Today we went to Bath and had a walking tour where we saw a bunch of touristy destinations and then we were on our own for a while. I found a store that was selling 3 pound color leggings and then some that were 5 or 8 pounds. I ended up not buying anything the entire time I’ve been here except some food and drinks. No souvenirs yet, but I have plenty of time.

2 thoughts on “Stonehenge and Bath

I'd love to have your input!

