Shakespeare…

For those of you who do not know, I’m taking a Shakespeare class while I am over here, as well as a 20th century British novel class. The readings we’re doing are one play or novel a week, depending on the class. That means I barely have enough time to read both things, let alone sit and figure them out the way I would like to. I am left staring blankly at a page thinking “Umm… what?” multiple times a week. When I catch onto what they’re saying I breathe a deep sigh of relief.

I thought after a semester of Chaucer, Shakespeare would be easy since I had studied him before. I was dead wrong. It’s been over a year since I’ve read Shakespeare so my skills have gotten rusty. I’m jumping right back in with King Henry IV Part 2 and a discussion and seeing the play this week. It’s going to be interesting, but I look forward to it.

On the other side of my experiences over here, I learned one of the girls I work with makes the best tea. I don’t normally like the normal breakfast tea they have, but she offered and I did want something warm in my hands at least so I agreed and asked her to add some milk and I finished the whole thing. It was amazing and I’ll never be able to recreate it myself.

She had me making showcards during work today, which is a big fancy words for a sign saying an author is coming to visit. These are put up at local places hosting these events. In this case it’s Waterstones, which is basically the Barnes and Noble of England. When she first said that I was thinking “What? I’m not a design person.” Then I realized I had been placed in the marketing and publicity team, so I was going to have to learn really fast. She had written what she wanted on it, and explained what the person did before me and set me on my way. I printed off the first one and we decided what needed to be changed, and after about five times (a lot less than I thought it was going to take) we sent the final one to the printer.

Then I had to use a machine to make them into giant stickers and make them into signs. It was quite a process, but I finished and I must say they look pretty amazing, and I wish I had taken a picture. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would have and look forward to doing them more.

I'd love to have your input!

