Review: Dr. Faustus by Christopher Marlowe

Dr Faustus
This is actually one of my favorite plays I’ve had to read for school. For me it’s a little hard to get into because of the language Marlow uses, but after the first couple scenes I fly through it. Every time I read it I find more and more to love and we always cover different aspects of the play during my classes. One of these times I really want to just sit down and read it. Slowly. Without needing to have it done by a certain time.
My favorite part of this play is just how Faustus never really learns his lesson, and that reflects how the human mind is more than any of the other plays I’ve read. I also really like the angels, mainly because they’re iconic. I don’t know if this is the book the angels on the shoulder come from but that would be cool if it did.
This time reading it through I had to do a presentation for class and I talked about how Faustus could be seen as a renaissance man or medieval.  This got me thinking about his character even more, something we did not focus on my first time through. It made me like this book even more.
Either way, 4 stars, I’ve read it twice and loved it both times, but the writing just style is a bit to much not for me.

I'd love to have your input!

