Gayle Forman- I Was Here

i was here
Synopsis (Goodreads):
         From the bestselling author of If I Stay – this summer’s YA blockbuster film.
         This characteristically powerful novel follows eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds in the months following her best friend’s shocking suicide.
          As Cody numbly searches for answers as to why Meg took her own life, she begins a journey of self-discovery which takes her to a terrifying precipice, and forces her to question not only her relationship with the Meg she thought she knew, but her own understanding of life, love, death and forgiveness.
          A phenomenally moving story, I Was Here explores the sadly all-too-familiar issue of suicide and self-harm, addressing it in an authentic way with sensitivity and honesty.
Review:
          This book made me think about life more than I ever did before. That being said, the deep topics may go over some people’s heads, or be misunderstood. You definitely need life experience to fully understand Cody. Had I read this in high school, I would not have understood how you can be so ignorant to someone’s suffering, now I realize most people that are depressed don’t show it. They can be the happiest people you have ever seen, so full of life. In addition to that people change when they go off to college and those back home may not realize it, not because they don’t pay attention, but because it happens so gradually it’s like a miniscule thing. True, Meg was still the same in some ways, but parents aren’t over there as much as they had been for the beginning of her life. College in itself is hard. And having her support system, and those making her take her meds and looking out for her is something I think she still needed, she was young and did not fully understand things.
          This captures a best friend relationship very well, Cody is left blaming herself for not being there for her friend, when in reality that how it is with a lot of friendships, it doesn’t mean they weren’t close. The romantic relationships between Ben and Cody and Meg are not entirely realistic. I don’t care if my friend killed herself, I still wouldn’t be able to live with myself if I were to go after a past boy thing of hers. However, Forman portrayed the beginnings of this relationship and even continuing on beautifully. The fall was very gradual, neither of them knew what hit them and they both knew it was wrong of them to feel this way. I really have to applaud Cody, sure she was nosy, and went after the guy Meg had liked, but she tried to fight it.
          Gayle Forman’s writing is beautiful. She has a way of making even the cruelest things sound logical. There was more than one time I thought Cody was going to kill herself, from Tylenol or find a way to get the same poison.
          I was captivated by the entire story, until the very end. Cody had been on an emotional field trip, she must have been overcome with emotion, yet she stood there talking almost like a robot. That was the only scene I wish had been rewritten.
          I need to read more of her novels.

I'd love to have your input!

