Feature and Follow #1

Feature & Follow is a weekly blog hop, hosted by Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read. The purpose of this is to eventually gain more followers, but to also meet your fellow bloggers and to have fun.

How to participate?
2. Follow the two featured bloggers of the week. 
              Exploring Pages and Read All the Things
3. Leave your name on the original #FF post via linky tools
4. Create an #FF post on your own blog.
5. Visit as many blogs as you can.
6. Say hi or leave something else in their comments.
7. You follow them, they follow back.
This week’s question:

Have you ever read a book you thought you’d hate but loved? Or vice versa?
– Suggested by A Great Read

I have read a couple books for my classes that I ended up loving. The most recent of which I’m halfway through called The Passion of New Eve. The synopsis sounded good, but I generally dread doing classroom readings. 

There have been quite a few books that have had so much hype that I decided why not? and decided to read them. These include books such as the Hunger Games Trilogy and Divergent. Though they do have good story lines (for the most part) I don’t necessarily like the writing style and the character’s inconsistency.

bloglovin

So what about you guys? What books have you been pleasantly (or unpleasently) surprised by?

22 thoughts on “Feature and Follow #1

  1. Beth says:

    I haven't read either the Hunger Games or Divergent, and I kind of think that makes me lose bookworm points. I do tend to avoid over-hyped books though, as I find myself being disappointed by them a lot.
    I'll be following you on bloglovin 🙂
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

    Like

  2. Jen The Bookavid says:

    Following on BL now! I've been wanting to read the Hunger Games & Divergent for ages but couldn't quite go through with it. There's so many other things that I want to read and I keep putting them off. I gues the hype just makes it worse for me. I have too high expectations now.

    Like

  3. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    It took me a long time to work up the courage to read them, and it was only because a ton of my non- bookworm friends told me they were fantastic. I think it's a common thing that they're over-hyped and then those that read a lot are disappointed because we read the amazing books that don't get as recognized. We expect them to be better than they are.

    Like

  4. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    (For anyone reading this it may be an almost spoiler) I almost didn't make it though the series because it was so dull but one of my friends kept saying “You'll never believe the ending of the third book!” So I forced myself to, and when I got to it I almost couldn't bring myself to care. I was almost to the point of “Thank goodness.”

    Like

  5. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    There have been books that have had a ton of really good reviews/ see all over that I still haven't read because I'm afraid I'll be disappointed. but yeah, it's almost like my TBR pile is long enough, I don't need to add more to it!

    Like

  6. thenovelorange says:

    I agree with you about The Hunger Games. I'm still disappointed at how much I hated it…I didn't even finish reading the first installment and refuse to see the movies! I had really high expectations! New follower! 🙂

    Like

  7. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    I do have a list that is a I'll pick it up again at some other point in time. These are books that I think I'd like but either I'm not in the mood, I don't have time, or something else like that. It makes me feel a bit more hopeful even if they don't get read.

    Like

  8. Cayt says:

    I personaly love Divergent and The Hunger Games, but hype can sometimes ruin a book. I think if you go in expecting to love it you can easily like it less then you would have if you just stumbled upon it and didn't have any expectations. I've had a few of these situations lately.

    New follower!
    My FF!

    Like

  9. Silvy says:

    I don't read Hunger Games Trilogy and Divergent.They were everywhere on internet with so many reviews and I avoid “popular” books, which had positive and negative reviews, I'll be waiting and after few years I will read them. New follower,
    Silvy @Books are my life

    Like

  10. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    I guess once the hype has worn down a bit or there is a new most popular book people start to say “oh it wasn't that good… but this one is” and it starts all over again.
    I can see why people do and I try to because I know I'll be disappointed, but then I get really curious and hopeful so I cave. But please tell me you at least read harry potter…

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

