Review: 1984

Nineteen Eighty-FourAuthor: George Orwell

Goodreads Synopsis:
While 1984 has come and gone, Orwell’s narrative is more timely than ever. 1984 presents a “negative utopia”, that is at once a startling and haunting vision of the world — so powerful that it’s completely convincing from start to finish. No one can deny the power of this novel, its hold on the imaginations of entire generations of readers, or the resiliency of its admonitions — a legacy that seems to grow, not lessen, with the passage of time.

My thoughts:
I’m going to be honest, this book took me MONTHS to get through. It kept getting put on the backburner for a while because of other class books and because some parts made me wanna fall asleep. In fact, it took me four months. Despite that I loved it. This book was the perfect mix between a novel and an essay. It made me think about so many different things, the government, media all the different parts of the world controlling who everyone turns out to be.
This is a story about a man named Winston, and in this dystopian society any thought against the government can be deadly. And Big Brother is always watching. Winston begins to try to escape the telescreens that are all over the city, these can transmit and receive anything that happens, and falls in love with Julia. Winston decides he hates the government and wants to join the rebels- however things don’t really go according to plan.
This book makes a statement about the world, not just how it is today but how it is in the past. In this book the past is alterable, if the government says they were at war with Eastasia then they destroy all evidence saying they hadn’t. There was so much philosophy in the final part (of three) and this entire book made my head hurt- in a good way.
The ending was exactly how I expected it to be, but not how I actually wanted it to end. It was the perfect ending for Orwell’s message. Maybe some day I’ll read Animal Farm.

4 thoughts on “Review: 1984

  1. Halyna Ryfyak says:

    This book is coming out in translation in my country this month, and I'm already anticipating the reaction. =) I just wish, they'd translated it 50 years ago. I've also read Animal Farm, and even though I liked it, sometimes it was like poking myself with a stick in the eye. But I guess, that's exactly what Orwell wanted. x)

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

