Trust No One-Review: Red Queen

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Author: Victoria Aveyard


Synopsis:    
     In a world where there are two kinds of blood, Silver rules over Red the Red are slaves, and the Silvers think they are treating them well by letting them live. The Silvers have different abilities, from reading minds to controlling metal. One day Mare, a Red who is about to be sent to the army, gets the chance to work as a servant for the royal family.
     During the Queenstrial, she falls on top of a shield made of lighting, a fall that should have killed her– but it didn’t. Instead it awakened powers only Silvers can possess. The King and Queen take immediate action to hide her true colors from the rest of the kingdom.


My Thoughts:
     With rebellion, traitors, bombs and family this book has everything. I only had this book for a weekend and I was determined to finish it before I had to return it (there were long waiting lists at my local library). I would have finished it just as quick if I didn’t have to return it that soon.
     This novel starts out with the Feats, a fight that shows the Reds just how powerful the Silvers are. I thought this was a really good way to start it out, seeing as the entire novel is a battle of power.
     One thing I must say is that there isn’t much romance in this book. I read the Hunger Games and Divergent and the reason I did not like them much is because it seemed as though the romance overpowered the rest of the plot. This was all backstabbing and rebellions and perfect.
     The characters are so realistic, and I could always picture them in my mind. As soon as I thought I could trust someone, they betrayed another person. Now, this would be a really easy way for the storyline to unravel. With so many lies and feelings being told there weren’t any major parts that stuck out to me as being not in character or mistakes about the lies. One part that did happen was a kiss- with next to nothing leading up to it! It was incredibly frustrating and I was like “what are you doing?”
      I read this book because of all the hype surrounding it. I thought I was going to be disappointed, but I wasn’t. I loved every minute of it. Now I just have to make it until the next book comes out.

2 thoughts on “Trust No One-Review: Red Queen

  1. Jeanna M says:

    I just finished this book too and LOVED it as well! After finishing, I couldn't believe that I waited for so long to read it. It was so good– the characters captivate you in a way like never before. (And make you mad too lol) We must wait so long for the next one to come out though…

    Great review! Happy reading!

    Like

  2. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    I kept waiting to read it because I thought I'd forget everything before the next book comes out (which I will) but so many people were talking about it and with the release of the cover for the second book it got to be too much and I caved.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

