Review: Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & ParkEleanor & Park– Rainbow Rowell

Goodreads Synopsis:
Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

My Thoughts:
This was my first novel I read by Rowell. I had heard so much about this one and Fangirl. With so much hype surrounding her, I just had to read it. Unfortunately I had really high expectations and this book did not meet them. It may have been because I was reading it whenever I was at my boyfriend’s house but I could not focus on this story for more than a couple chapters.

However, I loved the character development throughout but the characters themselves I could not bring myself to care about. I thought Eleanor seemed a little more stuck up than she should be and was almost glad when I got to the part about Christmas holiday. I will say I almost cried when at the end (not the last page end, but if you read it you’ll know which part).

I will probably read Fangirl at some point because I liked the writing style and the characters. Rowell is an amazing writer, but not one of my favorites.

4 thoughts on “Review: Eleanor & Park

  1. Maggie Seagraves says:

    I'm looking forward to reading Eleanor & Park! I've heard so many amazing things about Rowell's work, although I have yet to read her stuff! Fangirl sounds good too! Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

