Discussion: Removing Books

Lately I’ve been adding books upon books to my list of books to read, while adding these I have found there are books on that list that no longer interest me. I get into moods of what I want to read and then other books do not sound interesting to me.
When this happens I am torn, do I want to remove the books or not?

Pro:
– I can have a shorter TBR list
– I can focus on what I want to read at the moment

Con:
– I might want to read that novel at a later point, but not remember the name

General:
For me it depends on the book and author. If it’s an author or book I had heard a lot about and put it on my list for that reason, it will stay on. If it’s a book that I found randomly, I feel like I have less of a reason to read it. Don’t get me wrong, I know that’s a really bad way to judge whether a book should be on my list or not. I do feel as though the books I heard a lot about I already invested a lot more time in.
I have deleted entire TBR lists before and then the only books I would have missed out on were recommended to me again. Or I remembered them a week later and put them back on.
I don’t generally feel bad about cleaning out my TBR list, after all if I kept adding things to it the list would be around 500 books long, and I can’t read that many in addition to all the new releases I want to read.

Do you delete books off your list?

How do you keep track of your TBR?

2 thoughts on “Discussion: Removing Books

  1. Halyna Ryfyak says:

    Hi! I've nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. =) http://bookscoffeeandcake.blogspot.com/2015/06/versatile-blogger-award.html

    My TBR list is already intimidatingly long, so I only delete duplicates. And I know, that if I delete something, I will most certainly forget the title of the book, and then at some point I'll need to remember it, but won't be able to. Forgetting something important, because I haven't written it down, is just the worst feeling for me. Although I've noticed that good ideas (and books) tend to come back to me, but I'm still making lists just in case. =)

    Like

  2. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    Aw! Thank you!!
    And I'm always worried I will forget about a book completely that is absolutely amazing and just doesn't get a lot of hype, but I also add books to my to read pile in two seconds and having a long list is really intimidating for me and then I end up reading exactly 0 of them.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

