Discussion: Audiobooks Yay or Nay?

     Audiobooks are a supposedly great way to read books during long drives, or cleaning, or working or whatever you do. I recognized this and decided to try it out for myself and so, during my two hour drive I put in the audiobook of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. The first leg of this journey was fine. I was interested, I was listening. Then when the first CD came to an end I switched it out for a music CD, thinking I’d listen to that the rest of the way and start up the second CD on my way home.
     The weekend came and went and I could remember some of the book, roughly the same as if I had read the book. However, that apparently was not the case. I started up the second CD and was so confused! I had it on for only about 30 minutes when I gave up. Audiobooks just aren’t for me, at least while driving.
     Another problem with audiobooks for me is that I cannot seem to concentrate. My mind constantly goes on tangents during the day and even when I read books on the page. However, the difference is that on the page I can reread those passages or just stop for a bit. The audiobook keeps on going though, it doesn’t wait for stragglers.
     In the past I have listened to audiobooks. I’ve listened to Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult (Amazing book by the way) however, this was while I was doing a repetitive task for 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week. It was also a book I have read already. I find it easier to listen to a book if I’ve read it before because my brain can fill in the bits I miss.

How do you stay focused?
Do you enjoy audiobooks?
4 thoughts on “Discussion: Audiobooks Yay or Nay?

  1. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    Thanks! I've read reviews about the book I tried listening to and it sounds like it's very emotional so maybe I'll try reading it. Apparently we're just really bad at concentrating to oral stories.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

