Review: The Scorch Trials

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2)This is the second book in the series. The first book is called The Maze Runner.
Author: James Dashner

Synopsis:
After finally escaping the deadly maze the boys finally believe they are safe. However, they soon realize they are mistaken. They find out they were not the only group going through the maze.Teresa is taken from them and put in Group B, and they get the one boy from Group B in return.  Soon they are left in a desert, with just the supplies they could carry and are told one simple rule: Get to the safe point, 100 miles away. They have two weeks. Between fights with Cranks and knowing they now have the disease called The Flare they set off across the desert.

My thoughts:
I finished this book in a matter of days, it was a very quick read and really easy to get through. However, I didn’t really like it. I liked it enough to read the entire thing and I picked it up many times throughout the week, but it seemed pointless.
Sure, throughout the book there were confrontations and fights and instances that made all the Gladers stronger, but in the end it was just pointless. We still have no clue why WICKED is doing what they are doing, there was only one major relationship change, there are absolutely zero answers. Like really?? I haven’t read the third book yet, but I made a comment to one of my friends who has and I said I felt the whole book was pointless, and I probably could have skipped it. She said I was right.
As the Gladers are going along the desert they kept making comments saying how far they have left to go, and nothing to base it off of. They don’t have anything that tracks how far along the 100 miles they are. Every time they made a comment like this it made me pause and try to figure out how they know. They take so many stops and side trips that I just don’t know how accurate it actually was.
My final point is actually something I liked. I love when you can’t trust characters, they double cross, you think you know what they’re up to and then BAM they do the opposite. This was what one of the characters did throughout the entire book. It was so entertaining and I wanted to know what they were actually thinking and what their motives were.
In all, it was a quick and easy read, I’m glad I read it, but I’m starting to not be as much of a fan of this series as when I read the first one last summer. I’d give it three stars.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Scorch Trials

  1. Rachel says:

    I haven't read this series yet, but I've heard really bad things about it. It's sad when a book seems like fluff and is just so pointless and doesn't help the series at all. WICKED confused me so much during the movie… I feel like Dashner should have sprinkled some clues and info into this book a bit instead of just heaping it all on in book #3. Nice review!

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books

    Like

  2. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    I had such high hopes for this book because I really liked the first one. Clues would have been really helpful and then I could try to figure it out for myself. I felt like I was just fumbling in the dark.
    I saw the movie one time, so I don't really remember how much of WICKED was explained or not explained. I think in the first one it was just kind of mentioned, right?

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

