Not so shining bright- Review: Binary Star

Binary StarAuthor: Sarah Gerard

Goodreads Synopsis:
The language of the stars is the language of the body. Like a star, the anorexic burns fuel that isn’t replenished; she is held together by her own gravity.
With luminous, lyrical prose, Binary Star is an impassioned account of a young woman struggling with anorexia and her long-distance, alcoholic boyfriend. On a road-trip circumnavigating the United States, they stumble into a book on veganarchism, and believe they’ve found a direction.
Binary Star is an intense, fast-moving saga of two young lovers and the culture that keeps them sick (or at least inundated with quick-fix solutions); a society that sells diet pills, sleeping pills, magazines that profile celebrities who lose weight or too much weight or put on weight, and books that pimp diet secrets or recipes for success.



My Thoughts:
     This book was split into three parts, and honestly, I was expecting more. I was expecting it to be written like Wintergirls or Skinny. Instead it was written like someone who wanted to impress their creative writing teacher. It was a mix of poetry and prose with a symbol of the stars throughout. This symbolism was very scientific- the main character (who I don’t think was ever named)- is an astronomy student and because of this, some of the writing went over my head.
     I thought the veganarchism was going to be a stronger point in the book, but it only took up a couple pages.
     There were so many things I expected from this book, and it did not deliver. I saw the size of it (less than 200 pages) and thought I could finish it in a day. I was wrong. It took me almost a week and I had to basically force myself to read it.
     The prose jumps in time, most of the time forward, but a couple times back. It was difficult to tell where the reader was in her life. Also, there are no quotation marks, and sometimes it does not have the person’s responses. At one point she was talking to her mom on the phone and it only had the main character’s lines. This was really well done because I could still tell the other part, but there were other arguments between her and her boyfriend that had me confused about what was said and what was thought.
     This would be better if I knew I was going into that type of book, however, I was expecting the normal prose.


However, one star is too harsh, because I did finish it, and I did enjoy parts of it. Two stars.

I'd love to have your input!

