Review: The Martian

 Author: Andy Weir
Rating: 4/5

Summary:
Mark Watney was one of the first people to be on Mars. And it’s possible he would be the first to die there. After a storm caused his spacesuit to claim he was dead the rest of his crew was forced to leave to return to Earth.  What follows is his tale of trying to survive on the surface of Mars for over a year- with only a couple months worth of food and supplies that was not meant to work for that long.

My Thoughts:
This book had been on the New York Times bestseller list for 54 weeks. That is over a year. Obviously there was a reason why and when I found this book at the used bookstore downtown I knew I had to buy it.
I flew through the first half of the book before school got in the way of me reading it for a couple weeks. Whenever I wasn’t reading it I was wondering about it. I was constantly on edge of whether Watney would survive or not.
There were a lot of scenes where he had to explain science procedures, to be fair I skimmed a lot of these. Science is not my forte. Plus, I have a feeling most of these procedures would not have worked in real life.
Watney has a sense of humor- almost sadistic. He laughs in the face of death and makes jokes when it is entirely the wrong time. This took some getting used to but in the end it was so refreshing to hear his comments when I was on the edge of my seat wondering if he was going to live or die.

I'd love to have your input!

