Top 10 New-to-me Authors

So Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I stopped doing these when school started because otherwise that would be the only thing on my blog. Today’s topic is one I really wanted to do and this is the top 10 authors you’ve read for the first time in 2015. I really expanded my reading this year, I was introduced to a lot more authors and everything since I started this blog earlier this year.

  1. Kurt Vonnegut- I read two books by him this year, Galapagos and God Bless You, Dr. Kerokian.
  2. Heather W. Petty- I loved her Lock & Mori, I can’t wait for the next one to come out.
  3. Jessica Verdi- I enjoyed her twist on the classic teen pregnancy story in What You Left Behind.
  4. Alice Hoffman- This was an author a lot of people have read, including her children’s books. I was not one of those. My first one by her was The Museum of Extraordinary Things.
  5. George Orwell- 1984 was a book that had been on my to read list for over four years and I finally got to read it this year.
  6. Rainbow Rowell- I succumbed to reading Eleanor and Park over summer and it wasn’t my favorite book ever but I will probably read something else by her.
  7. Louise O’Neill- I read Only Ever Yours and I instantly put more books of hers on my list, but this year was about expanding my reading. I’m hoping to read authors more in depth next year.
  8. Tamara Ireland Stone- Every Last Word was a book I read at exactly the right time in my life. I’m so glad I read it.
  9. Lisa Genova- I read Inside the O’Briens and it took me about 6 months to recover from it. I want to read Still Alice.
  10. Victoria Aveyard- I praised Red Queen when I first read it but after a couple months it was not as memorable as I had originally thought.

Galápagos     Only Ever Yours     Inside the O'Briens     The Museum of Extraordinary Things

4 thoughts on “Top 10 New-to-me Authors

I'd love to have your input!

