Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs 
Pub date: June 7, 2011
Rating: 5/5

Summary:
Everyone things Jacob’s grandfather has gone crazy in his old age, but his last words and a mysterious presence in the woods where he dies leaves Jacob wondering if he really was crazy. After his grandfather’s death Jacob starts to speak out and decides he wants to go to the children’s home his grandfather stayed at when he was younger. After taking advice from his psychiatrist, his father goes with him halfway around the world.

My Thoughts:
Just something quick before I begin: the paperback of this book is really durable. It’s my friend’s copy and between the two of us it has been shoved in bags, and read cover to cover twice and still looks brand new; there isn’t even that annoying spine crack.That will surely come in handy when you reread it over and over.
This was such an amazing book and it’s one of those that I don’t know if I want to see the movie. I don’t know if a movie can do it justice, especially since there are pictures of some of the characters in the book itself. The casting would be really hard.
That being said, the characters are all super realistic, I felt like I was gaining new friends as I was reading the book. There’s also a father and mother figure in this book, which was really refreshing–except they barely do anything.
This was fast paced and I knew it was just going to get crazier as it went on. Somewhere in this craziness the author forgot to explain himself, it was as though he thought the reader would know exactly what he was talking about which was confusing. I think I figured it all out by the end though.
Incorporated into this novel are lots of vintage photographs that are actually real for the most part, some “went through minimal postprocessing”

In all, this is such a great read. Normally I’m not like “I love this book so much” if it’s been on the bestseller list, but this one I was.

Similar to: Charlie Bone and Harry Potter

2 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I'd love to have your input!

