eARC review: This is Where it Ends

This Is Where It Ends Title: This is Where it Ends
Author: Marieke Nijkamp
Pub Date: January 5, 2016
Rating: 7/10

2 Sentence Summary:
It’s a normal school assembly, but when they are left the doors to the auditorium won’t open. Then shots rang out.

My Thoughts:
The premise of this book captured me, reminding me of Jodi Picoult’s Nineteen Minutes. I mistakenly went in expecting something similar. It was nothing similar. This is a quick-paced book. It took place over the course of an hour, an hour that seemed to drag on and on as more and more people died.
Before I get into all of the things I liked, I must say the reason I rated this so low was because it seemed to drag on after a bit, it never really seemed like it was going to end. Also there were five different perspectives and each of these came with family and friends attached to them. It was very overwhelming and it wasn’t until the last 25% or so I actually understood all of these connections.

There were a lot more things I liked. Whereas Nineteen Minutes talked about the aftermath and the court case This is Where it Ends puts the reader right in the middle of the action. The reader can actually see the shooter walking down the hall, flipping his gun, the conversations with police and all the other things and that is probably what will make this unforgettable in my eyes.
This story is very timely as well, while shooting are becoming all to common, this book takes a look at what it is actually like. The fear shows so well, it was almost as though Nijkamp was at the fictional school when it happened.

Similar to: Jodi Picoult’s Nineteen Minutes.

I received an advance review copy from NetGalley and SourceBooks Fire. Thank you guys so much, it in no way influenced my review 🙂

5 thoughts on “eARC review: This is Where it Ends

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I'm so so curious about this one!! I heard it was by a ton of different POVs? Which scares me a little, I admit. 😛 But I do love books that are set in a short amount of time! I think it'd be hard to pull of that kind of story, which makes me so curious to try it. ;D
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  2. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    There are 5 different povs, I like it when there are 2 max, because it is difficult to pullt orr though you do get a slightly more rounded story. And everything moves very quickly, especially in the beginning so be warned!

    Like

  3. Jenna (Jinkies Books) says:

    There are 5 different povs, I like it when there are 2 max, because it is difficult to pullt orr though you do get a slightly more rounded story. And everything moves very quickly, especially in the beginning so be warned!

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

