Review: The Innocent

The Innocent (Will Robie, #1) Title: The Innocent
Series: Will Robie #1
Author: David Baldacci
Pub Date: April 17, 2012
Rating: 4/10

2 Sentence Summary:
Will Robie works as an assassin for the US government but then he refuses to shoot a target. This mingles with the murder of 14-year-old Julia’s parents.

My Thoughts:
This book was just a cluster, and not in a good way. It started out very basic and easy to follow and I didn’t want to stop reading it, so I kept reading it but eventually had to put it down for the night. When I picked it up the next day it was fine but then all the different parts tried to come together and it was such a stretch. It didn’t really work for it.
The characters may have been the saving grace. I loved Julia’s badassness (sorry for the language) and the budding relationship between Anne and Robie, but even they seemed to disappear when they weren’t actually in the scene. This is written from Robie’s perspective and it seemed as though  the FBI agent he teams up with does nothing while they’re not together- though it did set up her feelings toward him for future books.

So why didn’t I mark this as a DNF? 

1. I was too far into it.
2. The plot was actually really good and I enjoyed figuring it out with Robie
3. I kind of want to read the rest of them. I don’t know why.
So for some unknown reason, I enjoyed this book. I wanted to know the ending and I kept picking it up (though I was distracted very easily) also, the action scenes were generally great but again- sometimes confusing. Also, there were some typos and stuff which was kind of annoying.

Confession Time:
I broke my book buy/ renting ban for this book. I went to my childhood library to get some magazines (I rarely go there because I live almost 2 hours away)  and they did the thing where they wrap up books and put the genre on it and so I got the “Conspiracy Crime Thriller” one. I also got another one but it was a book I had to read for school and had read half of already but I didn’t have time to reread/ finish it before I left.
One thought on “Review: The Innocent

I'd love to have your input!

