eARC review: Sanctuary Bay: A short and sweet review

Author: Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz
Pub Date: January 19, 2016
Rating: 4/5

I recieved a copy of Sanctuary Bay from NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press. This in no way effects my review.

2 sentence summary:

A girl gets sent of to an elite boarding school that’s on a tiny island. There’s an asylum on the other side of the island that is in ruins and a POW camp underneath- but that doesn’t even begin to show the secrets going on.

My thoughts:

This book starts off as the most cliched thing ever, but it soon gained an originality that kept me ensnared in its pages. There’s a major uncovering about 30% in, I had read reviews before that had said it was not the normal top notch school book, and that was all. I didn’t know what was different about it and so I’m not going to give that luxury to you either. Not knowing made it so much better. This is why the review is very short, I can’t give away too much.

However, if I was not told it was different than other books I would probably have stopped reading at like 20%. It has EVERY stereotypical description and character I have ever seen: the boy with the crooked smile, the best friend’s boyfriend’s lips described multiple times and the super poor girl who can’t get over who she used to be.

What is some book you love but can’t explain why without giving away the plot twist?

3 thoughts on “eARC review: Sanctuary Bay: A short and sweet review

I'd love to have your input!

