I believe in… doing something different

During my first semester of college we were told to write a reflective essay about reading and writing. Simply put, where I had been, where I am now and where I hope to be. I was naïve.

I was so convinced I was going to go through my four years smoothly and graduate, move out to New York City, (hello expensive! 18-year-old Jenna did not realize this) or to Canada to work for Harlequin as an editor in the MIRA section of the company. I had no idea how many types of editors there were, no clue as to how many different occupations an English major could have. I was living in my own little bubble and I didn’t even realize it.

I had no idea I would ever work as an editor for the school newspaper. I had pretty much laughed my mom out of the house when she told me I should consider being a journalism major, but two years later I was copy editor, and now sectional editor. This isn’t much of a change from what I wanted to do. The biggest change? I willingly write articles and I went out of my way to learn how to write more.

I made this decision because I wanted a back-up. A way to round out my resume and fall back on. A year since I’ve started reporting I’ve grown to honestly enjoy it. If 18-year-old Jenna read this she would probably say I was possessed. Now, I sit here thinking maybe I should have tried out some communication classes early on, maybe my degree would be different.

I would be happy to be an editor at a newspaper or a publishing house. If I hadn’t taken the first step with the semester long editing job I would never have found that out about myself.

My point? Why am I sharing this?

I believe in doing something different, because even if you hated it when you were younger you’ve grown and changed as a person. Your interests reflect that.

When I was younger I also hated blueberries, naps and running. We all change. It’s a part of life, so try something new and stick with it for a little bit, even if it’s just a month. You’ll have new skills. It’s a whole new world when you’re older.

 

2 thoughts on “I believe in… doing something different

  1. Deb Molzahn says:

    Jenna, very well stated. We continue to be influenced by things that happen in our lives. Once carefree, the death of your child or loved one, or a divorce of someone n your family can make you look at life in a whole new way. Similarity landing the ideal job, getting married or, the birth of a child can bring happiness and joy you never imagined.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

