#MakeMeRead it Readathon!

This readathon actually starts the day after my 22nd birthday! Wow I’m old.

This year Ely at Tea & Titles and Val at The Innocent Smiley are hosting! This is what it’s all about:

Look at the books you own, either physical, e-book or ones you’ve borrowed from the library and pick out a few you really want to read, or feel like you should read. Itโ€™s up to you how many you pick, personally I’d pick a few more than you expect to be able to read in a week. Example: if you think youโ€™ll only read two, pick out five books or if you think you can read seven, pick out ten.
Make a list of these books on your blog, or make a video, or a Goodreads shelf or post a picture on Instagramโ€”whatever is easiest for you. Then get friends, other bloggers/booktubers etc. to vote on which books you HAVE to read.
When the readathon comes along, you read the books in the order of most votes. For example, if one book gets 10 votesโ€”you read that first, then the one that got 7 and so on. If there’s a tie, then it’s your preference. The goal is to read as many as possible.

 

This year is my first time doing this one, and I’m a bit nervous just because I don’t know what I’m going to be doing that week. If I’m traveling or how much I’m going to be working all factors into how much I will read. Also, this year I have a lot of long books that I’ve been putting off for the past couple years I want to read and there’s no way I can read 4 or 5 novels that are 800 pages each. I know some of you can! But not me. My goal is 3 books.

All of these books are ones I own so that I don’t have to worry about getting anything from the library, plus they’re all going to go toward the #ShelfLove challenge because I’m slacking there.

Why I want to read them:
Cuckoo’s Calling: Mystery novel by J.K. Rowling

Gone Girl: I want to give Gillian Flynn a second chance after Sharp Objects. I’ve heard this one is good, so *fingers crossed*

Frankenstein: Prodigal Son: This has been on my shelf for maybe 6 years? I keep putting it off because I never read the actual Frankenstein. That’s just me trying to make excuses though.

The Freedom Writer’s Diary: I’ve had this one for a while. I’ve only ever seen parts of the movie, which I love. I just thought the book would be better.

1Q84: I started this in high school and didn’t finish it (Whoops- Sorry) and Murakami is one of my favorite authors.

Salem’s Lot: I needed something from King on here! And on the back it claims to be “one of the most terrifying vampire novels ever written” so I need to read it at some point. obviously.

What would a list be without something from three of my four favorite authors? (King, Koontz and Murakami. Apparently I like the middle of the alphabet.)

Leave your links to your polls in the comments and I’ll vote for you too!

29 thoughts on “#MakeMeRead it Readathon!

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    I’ve always wanted to read 1Q84 so I voted for that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck with your challenge. This readathon is a lot of fun. It was the first one I ever did last year and I had a blast. But like you, I’m worried this year I won’t have too much time to read since I know it will be a busy week!

    Like

  2. Penni says:

    That makes perfect sense. That is how I am, myself. I tend to like movies and books that others found terrible.

    Like

  3. jkimexploring says:

    It depends on the book. There are some books that were hyped quite a bit and then that ruined it for me. There were also some I’ve heard were bad but I loved them.

    Like

  4. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I voted for Gone Girl and Salem’s Lot! I chose Gone Girl because I was not a fan so I’m always curious to see what other people think and Salem’s Lot because I’m yet to read a Stephen King book (I do plan on changing that soon) so again I’m interested to see how it is!

    Like

  5. lattenightsreviews says:

    I voted for Gone Girl even though I haven’t read it but I have it on my shelves to read someday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. lattenightsreviews says:

    I voted for Gone Girl even though I haven’t read it. I have it on my shelves so I hope to read it one day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Mareli Thalwitzer says:

    You’ve got a great list! I’ve read quite a couple of them. You can’t go wrong with any one. I’ve voted for The Cuckoo’s calling – read it and the next one too!! Please vote for me as well. Happy reading!

    Like

  8. Valerie says:

    I think IQ84 is one of the FIRST books I put on my Goodreads TBR, even though I never ended up reading 1984 by George Orwell. So maybe one day I will get to both of those. I also voted for Gone Girl, only because I watched the movie and loved it ahahah. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you so much for joining! Can’t wait to see what books are picked!

    Like

  9. jkimexploring says:

    I love reading all the reasons people have for picking what they did. I read 1984 last year and it’s one of my favorite classics, hopefully you’ll like it too.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

