May’s mini-reviews

I’ve decided that I don’t want to do a long review for every book I read, so I’m going to be doing a lot more mini-reviews! (Obviously I will still do long reviews ARCs and some others I read) This is for various reasons:

  • Sometimes I go through books really fast- reviewing slows me down. A lot.
  • It’s time consuming
  • I don’t know what to say and it feels like a lot of blahness and repetition.
  • I don’t have to.

PoisonArtistThe Poison Artist- Jonathan Moore

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It was slightly predictable but at the same time it was intriguing and the first murder mystery novel I’ve read in a while. I loved the vibe that the love interest puts off throughout the story. There was one scene about three quarters through that I cringed at so badly I had to put the book down, but that only lasted for thirty seconds because I needed to find out what happened. I’d read something else by Moore or similar for sure.

The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories- Marina Keeganimg_20160427_102730744.jpg

This was a collection I was hesitant to review because short stories are never fully done, and Marina died a couple days after graduation. She didn’t get a say in what went in or anything. In the forward one of her professors shared a list of things Marina thought she could improve upon that she had written. I loved how having the professor talk about her made me feel like I new her as a person rather than just as a writer. I think she would have done well.

NeverAlwaysSometimesNever Always Sometimes- Ali Alsaid

I remember seeing this one all over people’s blogs and eventually I picked it up at my library. However, it wasn’t very good in my opinion. There were inconsistencies sometimes within the same page and I almost put it down, but I powered through and it wasn’t worth it. It was a very good premise, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

 

Have any of you read these? What did you think of them?

3 thoughts on “May’s mini-reviews

  1. Endlessly Reading says:

    Love quick little reviews like these, they’re straight to the point with getting your thoughts across and help the reader decide/debate whether or not to pick the title up. Really interested in the collection of short stories but sad she passed. I’ve heard practically the same thing for both of Alsaid’s novels. Have been wanting to pick them up but.. :/

    Like

  2. jkimexploring says:

    I’ve been liking the short ones more and more as I see them 🙂 and I’m the only one I know of that didn’t like Alsaid’s so you might st I’ll like it.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

