Full Review: Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge

Title: Last Call at the Nightshade Loungeimg_20160616_103358605.jpg
Author: Paul Krueger
Publisher: Quirk Books
Pub Date: June 7, 2016
Rating: 9/10

Two Sentence Summary:
Bailey Chen takes up a bartending gig with one of her high school friends after graduating college until she can get a new job. One night she discovers  secret stash of alcohol and makes herself a drink and this alcohol gave her.

My Thoughts:
I was instantly entranced by the premise of this novel. I was not disappointed. Plus, I kind of want a sequel. I loved the characters that much. There were some bits that were cliche like the Canadian that loves Canada, but each had their own original quirks. This was such a unique concept, storywise and the layout of the book was almost just as unique.img_20160616_102923.jpg

This is the same publisher that published Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It does show a little. Between some of the chapters are pages out of a different book, where it gives relevant drink recipes and the magical history behind them, which brings me to another point. The history. It is so rich in this book. Krueger explains the history and how they lost one of the most powerful recipes and how other ones have been found again. It was so well thought out, and I found it 100000 times more interesting than our normal, mortal history. But isn’t that always how it is?

The only thing I didn’t like is something I can’t say very clearly without ruining the ending. So I’m going to leave it super simple: It gets very fast paced toward the end. This is something I find to be true in a lot of fantasy novels because my head spins with (generalized) alliance shifts, secrets revealed and just the placement of characters and how they interact with each other during fights.

2 thoughts on “Full Review: Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge

I'd love to have your input!

