#MakeMeRead results

Last week I embarked on the journey to read three (semi-long) books in a week. I pretty much failed, so this is going to be short and quick.

img_20160707_131412421_hdr.jpgBook 1: Gone Girl: Gillian Flynn (Four Stars)
I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I was going to. I was texting one of my friends periodically throughout it and she kept saying the ending was what she didn’t like. I, on the other hand, was yelling at Nick but it was still an enjoyable ending.
Something I didn’t expect: The mixed viewpoints. It was really clear who was talking and they were very distinct voices. I thought that they were both pretty insane which made this book stand out in my mind.

Book 2: Cuckoo’s Calling: Robert Galbraith (unfinished)img_20160707_131536304.jpg
Yep, I only finished one book the entire week. I only got to page 64 during the week. This was partially due to the narration. It’s told in third person omniscient and it jumped from one person to the other way to sporadically. The two main characters would be in conversation and it would spend a couple pages in his mind and then a paragraph in hers and then go back. It’s very jarring and I’m not a huge fan. I’m only on page 122 now. Haven’t made much progress.

I’m not even going to try to defend why I didn’t read much because it goes like this: Friend visiting. Work. Job applications. Friends visiting. Work. Basically I wanted money and I can’t ignore friends when they visit.

Maybe next time I’ll do better.

How did your readathon go? Are there any coming up I should join?

3 thoughts on “#MakeMeRead results

I'd love to have your input!

