All the Ugly and Wonderful things: eARC review

All the ugly and wonderful thingsAuthor: Bryn Greenwood
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Pub Date: August 9, 2016

Summary in two sentences:
Wavy has had a difficult childhood, with two parents who ignore her and a little brother to take care of she’s doing everything she can. Then comes along Kellen, one of her meth dealing father’s workers, what unfolds is both ugly and wonderful.

My thoughts:
Going into this novel, I had no clue what to expect, for some reason my brain had skipped over the fact that this girl was 8 years old when she fell in love with Kellen. Here’s the thing though (not a spoiler, this in the first couple chapters of the book): Kellen loves her back.

This book is going to cause such an uproar and will 100 percent be banned in many places. However, I enjoyed it. I have never read anything like this, Greenwood had a way of showing this relationship in such a loving light, Kellen was the only person in the world who made sure she grew up and went to school, he took care of her.

It’s indescribable really but I was so compelled to keep reading and even when it was done I didn’t want it to be done.

The thing that would catch most people up about this novel (besides the subject matter) is the switching viewpoints. Every chapter changes who is talking, but despite this I was never lost as to who was talking. They were all so distinct of voices.

However, much of it was in first person and then some of it was in third and this was what tripped me up and it was the only thing I didn’t really like about it.

A giant thanks to St. Martin’s Press and NetGalley for allowing me to read this book prior to release. This in no way influenced my review of it.

4 thoughts on “All the Ugly and Wonderful things: eARC review

  1. Kelly says:

    Fabulous review! I was lucky enough to get a copy of this from the publisher a few days ago, but I haven’t read it yet. It sounds like such an amazing read, and it’s been on my most anticipated 2016 reads list. Although I have to admit, the changes in narration would probably get to me…I’ve read a book recently that skipped around from 1st person to 3rd person to 1st person again and it really threw me off.

    Like

  2. jkimexploring says:

    This is still one of my favorites I read this year 🙂 The changes are really well marked but it does go back and forth if I remember correctly. I hope it doesn’t bother you too much and I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

