Cafe Reads: Coffee Edition Part 1

As most everyone knows coffee = life (for me at least) and I don’t discriminate. Except for unflavored lattes I need a little flavor in my life. And dry cappuccinos. I start almost every morning by reading and a cup of coffee with a dash of creamer.

When I think of different coffees I think of different characteristics and feelings. I tried putting those feelings and characteristics into novel form. Basically meaning that I matched coffee drinks up with novels I’ve read.

Decaf- Not as good as the original

Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
This is the first novel I read by J.K. Rowling besides the Harry Potter books and honestly it was such a disappointment. There were so may characters to keep track of and it wasn’t very memorable. I remember there was a child in social services and that’s it. Thankfully Cuckoo’s Calling was a little better but Harry Potter was by far the best.

Black Coffee- Bleak, classic, depends on taste

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
This book was so depressing. Even if you watched the movie, the book is even bleaker. Oliver is unwanted and underfed, under loved. Un- a lot of things. I actually really did like this book. But I know a lot of people don’t like either the writing style, the sadness of it, a variety of reasons. Just like Black Coffee.

Americano- Think it’ll be bad, but it’s good

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan
I actually have a habit of reading books I don’t think I’ll like. Most of the time it’s either hyped books or when someone close to me recommends them because some do surprise me. This one I just thought it would be the same thing over and over again. And it was, I knew they were going to keep going in the dares etc. However, each one heightened the stakes and for some reason I’m drawn to this in movies as well. (Would You Rather on Netflix for example)

img_20161009_233919.jpg

Espresso Shot- Short, quick, bitter

A Modest Proposal by Jonathan Swift
I actually have never had an espresso shot (enter gasp here). They’re so small and you’re supposed to take them as soon as they’re served, so that’s for that explanation. The writing style in this is so bitter and it’s so quick but so dense. Also, there’s eating babies. For those of you who haven’t read this yet, it’s a short satire piece about how to solve a hunger issue.

Hot Chocolate with Espresso- Childish, but adultlike

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
I am talking more about Lolita as a character. Children…. stay far away from this book. However, I read this a couple years ago and it’s one of those it was really hard to get into due to it’s writing style. I don’t know if a child would understand it. I guess that’s kind of like how they wouldn’t like the espresso in their hot chocolate as well. Anyway, Lolita is about 14 and she acts as though she is 18/20.

Frappuccino- Summer, lighthearted

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl By Jesse Andrews          Despite the title, this is actually such a funny book and it goes by so quick. It’s so easy to digest and the characters are so distinct from each other. It makes something that is normally so difficult to talk about and digest very quick and painless. This is just like how no one is born loving coffee, it’s a lot easier to get through in the lighthearted and painless sense.

Macchiato- Layers, part that keeps you up is last

It by Stephen King
I mean the part that keeps you up is last because it’s the last step in making a Macchiato. In this book King layers the past and present on top of multiple viewpoints. I’m not going to lie, this is a difficult book to keep track of all the characters in line until about a third or halfway through. I know a lot of people would fly through the ending, I would go in bursts, I’d read 50 pages and then stop. Then read again. However, the writing is very fast paced.

What are some books you would put in these categories? Any you would disagree with?

I'd love to have your input!

