Five tips to Five Miles

Three weeks ago I ran five miles outside for the first time. Last week I ran six. If you had told me back in May that I’d do that I’d laugh at you, but I have a lot more time on my hands now to run when I want to. Seeing the progress has made me wan to keep running even when my Nike Run Club schedule is done. Granted, I will probably run around 4 or 5 miles a lot more than doing the 6 mile runs, which currently pushes my joints to the max. In celebration of reaching this mark I have decided to share what has helped me. *

  1. Keep Going-
    I know this sounds obvious, but once I got a week or two into the program it was just my mind being bored with running. Just keep pushing a little bit more every workout. Eventually, after a couple weeks your mind will wander while you’re running. This was when I started loving to run.
  2. Ice and rest-
    After my longer runs I ice my knees, and depending on the day my ankles as well. This was a tip given to me by my aunt when I complained they hurt afterward and it does wonders. I generally do some yoga for about 10-20 minutes and then ice for 10 minutes.
  3. Cross train-
    A couple years ago I brought up my knee pain to my doctor and I used to just run, I wouldn’t do anything else. He told me to either bike, use the elliptical or swim once a week to get cardio in without so much pressure on my joints. My favorite of these is to bike, but recently I’ve been doing circuits to strengthen the muscles surrounding my knees.
  4. Sleep!-
    This is one thing that kind of gets forgotten. Since I started having a set time to go to bed and to wake up it’s been a lot easier to get out and run. The amount of sleep you need may vary day to day. But I’m not going lecture on the benefits of sleep. I’m sure you’ve heard it enough.
  5. DO NOT take painkillers before a workout-
    I have not actually done this, but if you have painfully sore muscles, joints, etc. Do not take painkillers in order to work out. You won’t necessarily be able to feel how far you’re pushing yourself, whether it be stretching or running. Make sure to take care of yourself. This includes stretching, resting and finding what works for you.

img_20161010_112640822.jpg

*I am not a doctor/ professional. This is just what has worked for me. The trick is to find what works for you.

I'd love to have your input!

