Readathons: Talk for Tea Time

Readathons are a wonderful thing. I love seeing them, participating in them and seeing what everyone else is reading (my TBR gets so much longer every time I participate). Over the summer I participated in a couple different ones and learned a lot about my reading habits.

A readathon is when a group of people set an individual goal for how many books they want to read in a week/ month/ varying time periods and go for it. Sometimes there are themes and other times there aren’t.However, as with all things there are some things I like and some I dislike and also some pieces of wisdom to pass on to those participating in Readathons.

Pros:

  • The amount of books read. Obviously. During a week long readathon my goal is generally 4 books that average 300 to 400 pages. Normally I read 2-3 books a week, so this makes me feel very happy to read even just one more.
  • In order to read more books I tend to pick books I want to read over books I’m reading for the #shelflove or PopSugar challenges. Granted I do like the books I’m reading for that but I feel as though taking a week long break off of them isn’t going to do any damage.
  • Some readathons have such an amazing sense of community and there are twitter chats and updates all the time to keep up this energy. It makes me feel so much more motivated to keep reading.

Cons:

  • Nothing else gets done. Seriously, I will wake up, read, work, read, sleep. Sometimes I’ll go for a run, but my room gets messier and I don’t really hang out with people as much, I won’t run errands, I won’t blog.
  • I read so much I don’t remember endings. This is not just during readathons but when I read books at the speed I do or start another book the second I finish the last one I don’t remember what happened. Or the characters. I need recovery time between books and I take that time even less when I’m doing readathons.
  • I get really stressed about meeting my reading goals for the day. If I don’t meet them one day then I add the number of pages to the next day and then I won’t meet that. It’s a snowball effect.

Tips:

  • Set a reading goal off of what you can read. In the last challenge I set my goal for the number of books I wanted to read (many of which were long) and then said I wanted to also read a chapter of It every day, which was another 40ish pages. I was two books short of what I wanted to read.Which brings me to point two.
  • Have a TBR and back ups. During that readathon there were a couple books I decided I didn’t want to read anymore/ rush through them and I didn’t have back ups so I just finished reading It.
  • Start and end your day by reading. This will get you in that mindset of reading during your free time and it’s always a nice feeling to start and end your day by relaxing.

What are some things you like/dislike about readathons? Any tips? What are your favorite or upcoming ones?

16 thoughts on “Readathons: Talk for Tea Time

  1. Megan @ bookslayerReads says:

    Well usually they do. But here lately, I’ve just had so much real life stuff going on, and not a lot of time to read… so I’ve given up on getting stressed over the Readathons. But I do get stressed over Goodreads reading challenges or if I’m buddy reading and my buddy has killed it and I’m only 25% in. Lol!

    Like

  2. Megan @ bookslayerReads says:

    I definitely know that feeling. There’s lots of books I DNFed because I couldn’t get into it… but they were hyped up books, so I think that had something to do with it. I thought the book, Girl on the Train, was good, but the movie looks even better!! I can’t wait to go see it.

    Like

  3. jkimexploring says:

    If I read past the second chapter I usually won’t put it down cause I think “but what if the ending is amazing?” The movie trailer is actually what made me want to pick up the book again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to have your input!

