Spooky Read Recommendations

It’s Halloween month and that means it’s time for spooky reads recommendations that I know everyone is doing. However, thrillers, mysteries and horror have become my go genre, especially this past summer. I don’t really know why but I have found so many good ones and have so many still on my list to read. I currently have two lists going of spooky reads. I have the one I’m sharing today and the one I shared earlier. Today’s is books I recommend to you and the one earlier this month were books I want to read. I have read two from my TBR since posting it, but none that are going to make this list.

Authors:

  1. Edgar Allan Poe
    He tells amazing short stories, and the writing is nothing short of horrendous (in a good way). They will keep you up all night and give you the feeling your place is haunted. Try: Tell-Tale Heart, Cask of Amontillado, The Raven, Pit and Pendulum
  2. Stephen King
    The king of horror writing. Seriously, once you get past all of the background information he gives these stories are so memorable and he actually does write more than horror.  Try: It, The Shining

Books:

  1. The Poison Artist- Jonathan Moore
    This book still sticks out in my mind and I read it closer to the beginning of the year. Some of these descriptions were so amazingly disturbing I had to put the book down for a couple moments and regroup.
  2. Sanctuary Bay- Laura J Burns and Melinda Metz
    This book had so many twists and turns that I stopped trying to predict what was going to happen. Plus it took place on a spooky island which I’m always a sucker for. Also the characters were super realistic and there was a secret cult.
  3. This House is Haunted- John Boyne
    One of my best friends recommended this to me and the children in it were just so creepy and loveable that I wanted to know what was going to happen to them and the ending was just… not what I thought would happen… like for real. Just read it.

Honorable mentions:
Ashley Bell- Dean Koontz
Rip Van Winkle-Washington Irving

4 thoughts on “Spooky Read Recommendations

  1. jkimexploring says:

    It took me pretty much all summer, but I was reading other books as well. It was amazing! My advice would be to make a list of the main boys cause I couldn’t keep them straight until the last 400 pages. 😊

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    I have had a copy of The Shining for so long but have never yet read it! I don’t actually read much horror, but I wanted to try some of Stephen King’s fiction after I read his book on writing, so I bought it and haven’t read it. Maybe that should be my next read, in time for Halloween! 🙂
    Awesome post! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

