Review: Every Heart a Doorway

everyheartadoorwayIt’s like a bunch of Alices come back from different rabbit holes and all go to school together. Some of these worlds are dark, others are full of nonsense. And what is causing the tragedy at the school?

Author: Seanan McGuire
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Pub Date: April 5, 2016

Review:
I picked this book up because it was short, had a pretty cover and was about kids slipping through doorways into magical worlds. It sat sitting on my library shelf for two months. Finally someone on Twitter mentioned how amazing it was so I decided to read it that weekend. It was more than I could have asked for. Then I went on Goodreads to add it and there’s a sequel! Coming out next summer.

This novel has so many different worlds. Everyone comes from a different world, except for Jack and Jill, who ventured there together. With all of these worlds introduced, you’d think they wouldn’t be very well developed. They are. Each of them has little minute details that set them apart from anything I’ve ever read before.

To compliment the different worlds are unique characters. Each of them were so diverse within the realm of characters I normally read about and within the story. The personalities they had determined what world they went to.

When it came to the mystery I was not expecting it because I didn’t fully read the synopsis (I have a tendency to do that sometimes) and while I was reading I couldn’t figure out who it could be!

Honestly the only thing I didn’t like about it was that I wanted it to be drawn out more and I wanted to have backgrounds to all of the characters. I just wanted to know all of their adventures within their respective worlds.

I'd love to have your input!

