Promise Falls: E-arc/series review

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2016
Broken Promise, Far From True, The Twenty-Three*
Author:
Linwood Barclay
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group

In Two Sentences:
In Promise Falls a series of crimes surrounding the number 23 occur, along with a killer carving smiles into his victim’s stomachs. Intertwined are stories of a kidnapped baby, a blown up drive-in theater and poisoned water.

Time to gush:
1. I requested this novel on NetGalley and didn’t read the bold faced segment that said it was the third book in a trilogy.
2. My library had the first two books.
3. I DEVOURED THEM! THEY WERE AMAZING!
4. I don’t remember the last time I added an author to my favorites list but Linwood Barclay is now there.

I began reading the third book before the other two, and I realized it could be read as a stand alone, but I didn’t want the overlapping plot lines to get spoiled, I had decided right then that I loved the writing and wanted to read all of them. Also the beginning of The Twenty-Three has a lot of characters because they are all introduced in depth in the first two novels.

During these novels there are so many overlapping plot lines, the killer who carves smiles and the one with the obsession with 23 run throughout the series, with the conclusion at the end of The Twenty-Three. I don’t know if I’d be able to wait until the end of next summer. None of these novels take very long to get into the plot. It just entices you to keep reading from the beginning to the end.

One of the things I admire about Barclay is that he incorporates things that are happening in the world today into his novels. This is especially prevalent in The Twenty-Three. From religious hatred to publicity stunts to police shootings it covers so much which just added to the reality of these novels.

Barclay’s writing sucks me in. If I’m going to start reading something I know I have to clear a couple hours of my schedule. I was so ecstatic when I found out these weren’t the only novels he wrote with these characters. I actually got Never Look Away which introduces one of the characters before this series and it’s siting on my “read soon” shelf.

*There will be another novel in this series coming out next summer (and I’m already excited) There is also a novella between the first two which I have not read

I received The Twenty-Three courtesy of Berkley Publishing Group. This in no way changes my review.

I'd love to have your input!

