December and 2016 Wrap-up

Well… there’s another year over and done. I can’t really decide whether I’m happy or sad it’s done. I woke up a on New Year’s Eve and was so ready for a fresh start. On the other hand, I didn’t accomplish everything I wanted to.

My month started out pretty great, I finally got a gym membership in my hometown (and I’ve been using it). I got a slight cold when my sister came to visit, but I can’t really be too mad about that cause I got to hang out with her and her boyfriend over Christmas. We made candy and my family came in from Minnesota, my dad took me looking at cars but I can’t find one that my paddleboard would easily go on top of, plus I hate how big the blind spots are getting. I got to go in my hot tub a lot. All in all it was pretty good.

Books read:

  1. The Bone House- Brian Freeman
  2. 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl- Mona Awad
  3. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde- Robert Louis Stevenson
  4. Her Every Fear-Peter Swanson
  5. Talking as Fast as I Can- Lauren Graham
  6. The Scrambled States of America- Laurie Keller
  7. The Tales of Beedle the Bard- J.K. Rowling

This was a month of reads that dragged on and one. Some of which I didn’t even enjoy but I have such a problem with putting books down. I just can’t do it. Her Every Fear was my favorite and it came out just a couple of days ago. However, I think I’m done with my thriller binging for a while.

Challenges:

  1. Goodreads- My goal for this one was 60 books and I managed to get to 86 (three of which were picture books from work). Toward the end of the year I decided to try for 40 books in 10 weeks. I failed miserably and just got a huge reading slump. Would not recommend for me to try that again.
  2. #ShelfLove- I finished this one at 11:30 p.m. New Year’s Eve with Tales of Beedle the Bard. Honestly, this challenge just made me want to ignore the books I originally had on my shelves… which was the exact opposite of what it was supposed to do. This year I’m going to keep track of what books I own since 2016, which ones I buy and read and what ones I get from the library. Just because I am curious.
  3. Popsugar- This was reading books from different categories and at first it was really easy and then it just got progressively harder and just ended up stressing me out and I felt like I was back in school. However, thanks to this challenge I found a couple favorites such as Blankets by Craig Thompson and 11/22/63 by Stephen King.
  4. Outdo yourself- I think I finished this one with a couple months to spare. My goal was 16 more books and I read 26 more books.
  5. Discussion Challenge- My goal was 1-12 and I definitely manged that. However, I don’t have an exact number because sometimes I don’t count things as discussion that are and vice versa.

I also wanted to review 75% of the books I read but then I was reading them so fast I decided not to because then my blog would be 99% reviews.

Other goals I had were to read more non-fiction which wasn’t that hard since I read zero in 2015 and to fill out my workout journal, which I did for a bit and then I did a training program on my phone so it seemed redundant to put it in two places. I did run a 5k which was my main fitness goal of 2016 and I did it in under half an hour, which I was super proud about.

I'd love to have your input!

