Why I don’t have a reading goal

In my post about resolutions I talked briefly about how I do not have a reading goal for 2017.  Two and a half weeks in and I think it’s one of the better ideas I’ve had.

In the couple of weeks leading up to the new year I went through a couple different phases. There was wanting to read 100 books, reading a classic a month, reading a non-fiction every month etc. etc. etc.

But then I looked back on 2016 and realized how there were some books I bought and were really excited for but I put them off in order to read the books I had to for various challenges.

Variety…
I have three books going right now. Horror, classic and fantasy. The next book when I finish one of these is probably going to be either non-fiction or thriller. Maybe it’ll be a time travel book or realistic fiction. The possibilities are endless.

…But sameness
On the other hand, maybe I’ll just binge-read another trilogy after I finish The Magicians. I do have a couple others in mind. Maybe I’ll only read Stephen King or Dean Koontz for a month and it won’t matter because that’s what I’ll enjoy.

Entertainment
Reading is supposed to be a form of relaxing, and entertainment. It’s a way to unwind at the end of the night. I want to constantly have something I really want to read, not something I’m forcing myself to check off on a list.

Speed
I think it’s known that if you enjoy something you read it faster. I’m still keeping track of what I read but sometimes I would just be thinking “have to get it read, have to read fast, have to get another book marked off” and I would have to go back and read a couple pages over. Without having a goal I’m trying to make this little voice go away.

Less slumps
I’m really hoping to have minimal slumps this year. They just make me sad and then I don’t get much of anything done because all I do is go on social media. I don’t even replace reading time with something productive.

2 thoughts on “Why I don’t have a reading goal

  1. Kelly says:

    I usually make myself a goal to read 150 books a year, and then find myself in reading slumps and feeling like I HAVE to read, even if I don’t feel like it, which causes me to not get as invested in the books I’m reading. So this year, I cut my reading goal down to 50 books, and so far, I’ve read more this month than I have in a long time. Feeling pressured to read takes the enjoyment away from it, so reading goals aren’t always the best thing!

    Like

  2. jkimexploring says:

    I’ve seen quite a few people lowering their reading goals this year! Last year it was really motivating for me cause I hadn’t read much in the past couple years but now reading has gotten to be a habit again. ☺ It definitely depends on the person/ year. Good luck on your reading and I hope you find some new favorites!

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

