The Girl Before: eARC Review

thegirlbeforeAuthor: JP Delaney
Pub Date: Jan 24, 2016

In two sentences:
Emma and Jane’s lives need a fresh start, a minimalist style. First Emma moves into One Folgate Street; when something happens Jane moves in and their lives begin to mirror each other.

My Thoughts:
Recently I’ve been obsessed with mysteries and thrillers. I’ve been reading some of the more popular ones and trying to find some not-as-popular. I devour all of them.

When I saw The Girl Before on NetGalley I sounded so interesting. I was expecting it was going to be about two girls who have to list what everything they consider essential and then move into a house and that’s all they get. That is not what it’s like at all. I wasn’t expecting this book to cover the topic of controlling boyfriends at all. The way this was depicted in the middle of the book almost made me put it down, but I am so glad I finished it.

This story is written in alternating viewpoints between Jane and Emma. They both live in the same house at different points and their stories begin very similar. There are a couple chapter which depict very similar scenes and I had to remind myself which viewpoint I was in, which was a little annoying.

Between some of the chapters are little questions found on the original application for the rental place. One of which was about choosing between donating to a local museum for important artwork or sending it to tackle hunger in Africa. Every time these questions came along I stopped and thought for a second about what I would do. This was so unique. I’ve never seen this in a book before and it just fit.

This is for sure a thriller I’d recommend for those who want to get into the genre more and for those seasoned readers.

I received this book via NetGalley. A special thanks to them and Ballantine Books.

2 thoughts on “The Girl Before: eARC Review

  1. Kelly says:

    I heard about this one a while back and have to say, I was rather intrigued! It sounds like a really interesting read, but maybe a bit confusing at times? I love mysteries and thrillers, so I’ll definitely be checking this one out! Great review!

    Like

  2. jkimexploring says:

    There were a couple of times I was confused because the storylines got so similar but it didn’t really take away from the story. The similarity added to it 🙂 I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

