Trilogy Reviews: The Magicians

The Magicians, The Magician King, The Magician’s Land
Author: Lev Grossman

I really wanted to read this trilogy before I watched the series on Netflix. That’s definitely still on my list to watch.

These books were hailed as being Harry Potter and Chronicles of Narnia for an older generation but I had a hard time buying into that because those were completely original ideas and this trilogy blended them together with some spark of creativity and intricate world building details. It takes a different approach to magic, but the approach to getting into a different world was so similar to that of Narnia. I kept thinking about these other books while I was reading it and that ended up distracting me a bit.

In the beginning of the trilogy I was very annoyed at a lot of the characters. They were all pretentious and prided themselves on how smart they were and on top of that they wanted more. As the books went on either I became more and more invested in the characters or they became more and more likeable. There were some characters I was rooting for more than the others and I wish some of the first book had some of her perspective in it because I was always wondering what she was thinking.

The first half of the first book involves a lot of world building. I know a couple of people who stopped because they couldn’t get through it, but by the end of the first book I thought it was worth it and by the end of the last one I knew it was worth it. If you can just push through it’s worth it. All of that world building makes the rest of the trilogy worth it and made it seem so much more realistic.

During the first book it seemed as though all of the plot lines were very distinct, one chapter would be one thing and the next would be another. It was as though each chapter was its own story and I didn’t really like that either. There were too many plots, and it would have been so much better to have expanded on those plots and have had more books in the series.

The endings of each of these books were just indescribably painful. They were the exact opposite of a happy ending and so I had to keep reading the next one. The plots built on the previous novels, even the most minute details. It was very well planned out and all came together at the end of the trilogy.

In all I enjoyed this trilogy more and more as it went on. Everything about it became larger than life and it became more and more extravagant.

2 thoughts on “Trilogy Reviews: The Magicians

  1. Kristen @ Metaphors and Moonlight says:

    I really want to read these! I’m not a DNFer, so I can totally push through lol, especially if I know it’ll be worth it. I don’t like the sound of each chapter being like a different plot, but it sounds like it all comes together in the end and turns out to be good. And I’m ok with painful endings. I definitely need to find this at my library this year or something!

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

