Review: Misery by Stephen King

A bestselling author finishes his next book, but crashes his car after celebrating. He is taken in by his crazed number one fan who isn’t happy with the ending of his previous book.

If you’ve been following me for a while you know I love Stephen King (not in a keep-him-hostage-and-force-him-to-write way) but as in a I-want-to-read-everything-he’s-written way. If you haven’t been, well, now you know. My count is up to seven of his novels and this was the best I’ve read by far. If I had to suggest one of Stephen King’s books for people to start with this would be it… for now.

MIsery

I could rant and rave about the ending for ages but that would be massive spoilers so I’ll talk about the rest of it. Don’t fear, there’s so much packed in these 340 pages.Β About halfway through I got to that point where I couldn’t put it down. I read until late into the night and woke up in the morning and skipped the gym to finish the book.

Normally in King novels there is a lot of background, sometimes multiple times. He talks about every character, every place, every newspaper clipping. His books intertwine with each other, it’s ingenious. This book doesn’t have all of those extended explanations, which made it go by so much quicker. As I read more and more I appreciate his background more, but that is also why a lot of people are hesitant to try King’s writing.

I was left once again wondering “How does King come up with this???” As soon as I thought Annie had done the most unpredictable thing she outdid herself. I would absolutely love to read a psychology article about Annie Wilkes and portrayal of her disease in literature. That would be so interesting to study. I never thought I’d want to study a particular work of literature before. If anyone knows of any analytical essays I’d love it if you pointed me to them.

Paul is injured during his crash and cannot use his legs due to the pain and broken bones. It creates this desperation to get out but he’s incapable of it because he doesn’t have the strength and then he has to worry about Annie and his wheelchair getting stuck and it just takes this situation that is horrible as is, but makes it worse because he’s stuck there. He has to use the little things he can scrounge up just to survive and it’s so wonderfully done. It’s a constant “Can You?” and because it’s King you’re not really sure.

This book isn’t only a horror/ thriller novel but King talks about writing, and how writers think. How there are superstitions, or (used to be) only one copy before they could copy it, not letting people see the first draft etc. He talks about how they keep notes about every detail and connections so the author doesn’t have to go back between all of the books to find it. Reading this makes me want to read “On Writing.” The more and more I read of King the more and more I appreciate what he does. I know I’ve said that before but I am just more and more in awe. If I could take a class from any author it would be him.

I love how Stephen King has the dates he’s worked on the book and start/ finish location in the back. King has connections between other books and I am proud to say I’ve gotten to the point where I actually see them. This one had a nod to The Shinning and IT.

14 thoughts on “Review: Misery by Stephen King

  1. Kat says:

    I’ve only read two of King’s books so far, Misery and The Shining, both impressive reads. I too want to read as much of his works as possible, though I’m stumped on which to read next out of Salem’s Lot, It, 22.11.63, and Under the Dome. I’m leaning towards It more because I remember watching the TV movie years ago and was terrified of it. So I imagine I’d enjoy reading its origins.

    Like

  2. jkimexploring says:

    22.11.63 was my favorite before I read misery.
    IT is one of those I was glad I read, but I will probably never read it again because of its size. I haven’t seen any of the adaptations yet πŸ˜”
    I haven’t read the other two, but I think I’m going to read Thinner next.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kat says:

    I’ve not heard of Thinner β€” there are so many of his books to read! Think I’ll try 22.11.63 or It first, though will probably have to concentrate hard since, like you say, their sizes!

    Like

  4. jkimexploring says:

    22.11.63 didn’t feel like a big book to me! I flew through it so I hope you like it πŸ™‚ and Thinner is about this guy that is living the perfect life and then he hits a gypsy with his car and she whispers “thinner” and then he starts losing a ton of weight.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jkimexploring says:

    Which one is your favorite? And I definitely go through times where I read a ton of his and then stop for a while and then start and wonder why I didn’t keep reading his.

    Like

  6. Aj @ Read All The Things! says:

    I wish Stephen King would teach writing classes. That would be the best thing ever. Also, On Writing is my favorite writing craft book. It’s part memoir, and I liked seeing what King’s life was like before he published his first book.

    Like

  7. Kaitlin (@KaitlinS16) says:

    I’m kinda excited that you suggest this is what people start with when getting into Stephen King because this is one of the few books by him that I own. I Salem’s Lot and (maybe) IT, but I’ll probably read Misery before either of those. I’m familiar with the story because of the movie and I’m interested to see how the book went. πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

