Make Me Read It Read-a-thon… Take Two!

Scrolling through my twitter feed I saw the Make Me Read It Read-a-thon was absolutely thrilled!  This was my favorite read-a-thon last year and I was really looking forward to it happening again. They also announced it the day before my birthday which was pretty much the best blogging present I’ve gotten yet (even if it was unintentional)!

This read-a-thon is taking place from August 6th through August 13th. Which is great because I have way too many high-priority books for July so they’ll be done by the time this read-a-thon starts.

Ely at Tea & Titles and Val at The Innocent Smiley are hosting again! For those of you who don’t know:

Look at the books you own, either physical, e-book or ones you’ve borrowed from the library and pick out a few you really want to read, or feel like you should read. It’s up to you how many you pick, personally I’d pick a few more than you expect to be able to read in a week. Example: if you think you’ll only read two, pick out five books or if you think you can read seven, pick out ten.

Make a list of these books on your blog, or make a video, or a Goodreads shelf or post a picture on Instagram—whatever is easiest for you. Then get friends, other bloggers/ booktubers/ bookstagrammers etc. to vote on which books you HAVE to read.

When the readathon comes along, you read the books in the order of most votes. For example, if one book gets 10 votes—you read that first, then the one that got 7 and so on. If there’s a tie, then it’s your preference. The goal is to read as many as possible.

Last year my goal was three books and I only read one… and 64 pages. I am still optimistic though and am going to try to read three books as well. Here’s the options:

Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King– I had to include a Stephen King novel and I keep putting off this one because it’s the beginning of a trilogy which makes it as intimidating as one of his larger ones but perfect for a read-a-thon.

You by Caroline Kepnes– This one has stuck out to me since the first time I read about it, specifically because it’s told from the stalker’s perspective.

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill– I haven’t read anything by Joe Hill before but this one sounds so entertaining, I men, a magical bridge and a magical car along with thriller elements. I couldn’t really pass it up when I saw it at the book sale.

The Circle by Dave Eggers– I really don’t know what this one is actually about but it’s interested me since the first time I saw the cover.

The Night Shift: Real Life in the Heart of the E.R. by Dr. Brian Goldman– I’ve been in the mood for a good non-fiction and this one talks about the E.R. after midnight and it takes a look at the medical profession today.

Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson– I have been watching Emily’s YouTube channel and she talks constantly about Brandon Sanderson and how amazing these are so I picked up the first one.

Learning from last year: I will only be counting the votes in the poll, so if you leave them in the comments on Facebook, replies on Twitter, comments here I will not be counting them. Vote in the poll.

Go forth, vote (max. two) and leave your links in the comments!

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Make Me Read It Read-a-thon… Take Two!

  1. kemccoy says:

    Looks like you have some really good book picks! I’m excited about this being my first year of doing Make Me Read.

    Like

  2. Maggie says:

    Hi! Happy late birthday! 😀 I totally picked the Joe Hill book! I’m dying to read his graphic novel series, Locke and Key! You probably know this already, but Hill is Stephen King’s son! Anyway, I’m taking a break from reading my first King book ever, The Stand, and I love his writing style; it was a debate for me to pick Hill over Mr. Mercedes! This is my first time doing this challenge and I’m so excited! Happy reading and good luck! 😀

    Like

  3. jkimexploring says:

    I didn’t know he had graphic novels! They’re either hit or miss for me tbh. I haven’t read The Stand yet, but I’ve read I think 7 of King’s books? Now you’re sucked in forever 😊 I heard Hill was King’s son after The Fireman was on my list but that made it move up my list a bit. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Happy reading!

    Like

  4. Chloe Thomas says:

    Nice to see your excited about this readathon. I’m super pumped about it simply because I loved it last year so much haha!
    I voted for You. It’s one of my favourite books of this year I absolutely adored it!!!!

    Like

  5. Bemused Bookworm says:

    Thanks for coming by Bemused Bookworm & voting. My books are neck to neck. Super excited to see what i’ll be reading! How’s your voting coming? 😀 Fingers crossed for Mistborn, It’s been on my TBR for AGES!! lol.

    Like

  6. jkimexploring says:

    I just bought the entire trilogy last month so hopefully I like it! It’s been up there this whole time so I’ll definitely read it soon if somehow isn’t in the top three

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

