Reading with Patrick: ARC review

Author: Michelle Kuo
Publisher: Random House
Pub Date: July 11, 2017

In two sentences:
Between college and law school Michelle Kuo goes to Helena, Arkansas, as a part of Teach for America. When she learns an old student is in jail she goes to see him and they continue with his education, reading different poems and classics and writing.

My thoughts:
I picked this up from the bookseller’s library a few days before the publication date, expecting to fly through it on my weekend off and have a review up for the day it came out.

The book had other ideas though. About thirty pages in I realized this was a book you couldn’t just fly through. This was a book you savored, a book that would take twice as long to read a page. The writing is so simplistic for the most part but it made you reflect.

I still read it within a couple of days but the time it actually took was much longer. It’s about a place I have literally never thought about before, but a place I don’t think I’ll ever forget… and I didn’t even go there.

This book was so beautifully written it makes you want to do anything you can do  to help. It was the perfect blend of showing the current times, the history needed to understand why it was the way it was and the emotions she felt. I just loved how honest this was, going between feeling she made such a difference and no difference, admitting she doesn’t know how they think or what it’s actually like to grow up there. You can see them grow throughout their lives.

I didn’t think Reading With Patrick was going to change my thinking at all. Actually I didn’t think about it much before I started reading it. I didn’t even read the summary on the back. It was basically a judge the book by the cover… and title.

2 thoughts on “Reading with Patrick: ARC review

I'd love to have your input!

