Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

So this tag was originally created by Chami and Ely.

I know it’s past the halfway point of the year, but I felt I should do a checkup and since I’m not doing any challenges this year, I decided to do this tag instead. I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but who says that’s a rule? And if you want to say it in then that just makes me a rebel.

  1. Best book you’ve read in 2017?
    Misery by Stephen King
    The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?
    A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I did read A Court of Wings and Ruin but it really wasn’t as amazing. ACOMAF put me into a reading slump because I wanted something as amazing and I didn’t finish a single book until ACOWAR a month later and it got me out of my slump because it wasn’t as good.
  3. New release you haven’t read yet but want to?
    When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon because I kept seeing it all over. AND then the reactions on Twitter when it came out. I have a feeling I’ll really like Dimple.
  4. Most anticipated release for the second half of 2017?
    I haven’t really been paying attention to the new releases, but Stephen King and Owen King have a new book coming out called Sleeping Beauties at the end of September and it’s my goal to read everything by Stephen King.
  5. Biggest disappointment?
    Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
    Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
    City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  6. Biggest surprise?
    Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour. I’m not a huge contemporary fan, but this one was actually really good. I loved the slow burn romance and how it doesn’t actually focus mainly on the romance, but on the character development.
  7. Favorite new author?
    Michelle Kuo, but Reading With Patrick is her only book, and a memoir, so it may be the only one we get by her. She talks about her Teach for America and the students she met and then how she came back a couple years later to continue what she started.
  8. Newest fictional crush?
    I never really go super crazy over fictional guys? It’s not a regular thing but Clay Jannon, from Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore was pretty cool. He just keeps searching for answers. And won’t stop. He’ll think of different things most wouldn’t. Plus he’s a nerdy bookworm/ web nerd which doesn’t hurt.
  9. Newest favorite character? I literally just finished The Marriage Pact last night and my favorite character of the year is getting taken from that because I just loved Alice. She was the perfect blend of rocker and smarts, dedicated to work but loving. She was so well written.
  10. Book that made you cry?
    The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I don’t think I even need to explain this one.
  11. Book that made you happy?
    Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert, it made me so hopeful and motivated about everything. It made me want to sit down and write for years and years. And I haven’t felt like that in forever, so that made me happy. I think this book may be the reason I’ve been blogging so much lately.
  12. Favorite book to movie adaptation you saw this year?
    None- I’m not a huge movie person, I’ve watched maybe six this entire year and I don’t even remember what ones they were. I had a list going but then thought “I don’t really care” and deleted it.
  13. Favorite review you’ve written this year?
    Reading with Patrick by Michelle Kuo
  14. Favorite non-review you’ve written this year?
    The Horribleness of Caffeine Withdrawal– even though I didn’t stick to the no caffeine I have cut back so I don’t get bad headaches without it.
  15. Most beautiful book you bought so far this year?
    Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. The cover is just gorgeous and I love the way mass market feels in my hands (I hate the small print though) It’s just such a great photo combination.

  16. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
    I mean, any of the 648 unread books I own would be nice.
    American Assassin, The Outsiders, The End of Your Life Bookclub, Fahrenheit 451, Les Miserables, Quiet, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban.

Wow, going through this made me realize how few books I’ve read this year. I’ve read 30 so far, which sounds like a lot, but it doesn’t give me much room to wiggle around in these answers. A lot were authors I’ve read before or standalones, etc. Plus, a lot of the books I read were just meh.

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

I'd love to have your input!

