My New Reading Obsession?

Last month I read 11 books. That was insane. It didn’t feel as though I read that many books, so I wanted to know if whatever I was doing was sustainable. I obviously love books and obviously want to read as many as possible. My TBR This month is 15 books. I just finished one Saturday and will hopefully be close to finishing another book by the time this post goes live.

To begin with, I have been reading more daily than previous months but the main thing that stood out to me was the couple times I tried to read at least 12 hours within a 24 hour span. I did it twice this past month.

During the summer I get scheduled for less hours at my retail job since it’s not as busy so I have more free time. I also generally have at least one night and full day off a week and I decided to utilize that time. I generally dedicated myself to finishing the books I started and then reading one or two other ones.

It reminds we of when I was younger and would just come home from school and read. It lets me get lost in them and look up hours later and not feeling like I was in the real world. It was an amazing feeling and I think I’m going to do it twice more in August. It is so nice to get everything done before I start and then just dedicate an entire day to reading.

This is also so much more sustainable than a week long readathon because you can get burnt out trying to read as much as possible every day for seven days. I haven’t done any of the official 24 hour readathons because they always end up being on my most busy days so hopefully I can join in on one at some point.

 

11 thoughts on “My New Reading Obsession?

  1. daniellethamasa says:

    I so prefer 24 Hour Readathons to the week long ones. I read as much, if not more, in one 24 hour period than I do in a whole week of reading.

    Like

  2. daniellethamasa says:

    Well, the next 24 Hour Readathon I know about is Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon and it is Oct 21st.

    Like

  3. daniellethamasa says:

    You should join! I always seem to have a great time with these readathons, and I think you would too. And there is still plenty of interaction on social media for the 24 hours as well.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

