#MakeMeRead Wrap-Up

So I thought I’d do something a little different this year, instead of just doing a list of books finished, I decided to go day by day and let you all know how my week went. This may (will) get a bit long considering I’m writing some at the end of every day.

Day one: Sunday, Aug 06, 2017
I woke up ready to read YOU by Caroline Kepnes after all the wonderful things you guys said and I wanted to read it all in the first day. Unfortunately, I just could not get into it. It took me pretty much the entire day to get the first 50 pages done. I felt so uncomfortable reading from that perspective and of that context that I was actually ready to DNF it because of that. I have such a hard time DNF-ing books though so I kept reading.
I ended up reading 236 pages and while it was really difficult to get into, once you get into it, the story goes along really fast.

Day two: Monday, Aug 7, 2017
I wasn’t expecting to get much reading done at all today. I worked both jobs for a total of 12 1/2 hours and I get too sucked into books to be able to read them on my breaks so I just talk to people instead. I got home and was thinking I was going to sit down, catch up on social media for a couple minutes and read my book. Well… I only read 24 pages in the time between 10 and 12 pm.

Day three: Tuesday, Aug 8, 2017
I had today off of work, so I was hoping to be able to get a lot or reading done, and I got a fair bit done, I finished YOU about halfway through the day and am not to sure about how I feel. I also started Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson and read about 47 pages. I know I would have read more but I didn’t feel very good at night so literally all I did was watch Netflix and drink tea.

Day four: Wednesday, Aug 9, 2017
I worked this morning and had a couple hours in the afternoon before I went to hang out with some friends  (funny how everyone wants to hang out during readathons). Unfortunately I had to run errands and such. I’m really not having as much time to read this week as I originally thought. Today I only read 21 pages of Mistborn. Also, this book looks so skinny and then you open it up and it’s over 600 pages.

Day five: Thursday, Aug 10, 2017
Today I woke up really late and then had to run errands and go to a one day only used book sale, so I bought a lot of  used books which I’m really excited for. Unfortunately by the time I got home it was time to get ready for work so I only read like five pages. I felt like I’ve barely read all week so I made myself get to at least page 100 before going to bed and I made it but I was so ready to pass out.

Day six: Friday, Aug 11, 2017
Today I went to work and helped my grandma out with some stuff, finally ordered a new phone case and then I only had an hour and a half-ish before I went to my friend’s bonfire. So obviously I took that time to read. I got about 50 pages done, which was pretty good. Mass market books always take me longer to read than normal because of the type size. Mistborn honestly gets better every time I open it up and I’m already looking forward to the entire trilogy.

Day seven: Saturday, Aug 12, 2017
I went to the beach today to read and lasted about half an hour before going inside. Then we went into town and joined in the end of summer celebration type thing they do every year. When I got home I read a bit more. I thought I going to read a lot more but I also wasn’t planning on going into town for more than just a quick coffee.

Day eight: Sunday, Aug 13, 2017
I had the opening shift, which is always really good for my productivity. I like starting off my day and then getting back home and still feeling productive. I came home and just read for a bit and then decided to take a couple breaks and then read some more. I read 100 pages exactly this day so at least I ended on a semi-decent note.

Total Pages: 768. Finished You by Caroline Kepnes and got halfway through Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Overall:
I wish I had read more. My goal was originally three and I read one and a half. Less than 1000 pages. I read so much more during a normal week but this week felt like such a fail. It took me a bit to get into Mistborn. Part of it was that I had a social life for once and part of it was because I kept reading it during my normal nap/ go to bed time. It was such a fun week, I just wish I had read more during the time I had because a lot of time was spent just wandering around the house and going on social media.

IMG_20170814_141345667

What readathons are all of you participating in and how are they going? How did your Make Me Read It go?

3 thoughts on “#MakeMeRead Wrap-Up

  1. daniellethamasa says:

    The fact that you were able to push through and finish You even though you had a rough time with it at first is commendable. During readathons I find that I can’t just push through if I’m not enjoying a book. I want books that I fly through so I can accomplish more. So congratulations on reading a book and a half during the readathon. That’s still really great.

    Like

I'd love to have your input!

